Shehu Shagari Way, Central District Abuja

The Federal Revenue Court (as Federal High Court was then called) was established by the Federal Revenue Act 1973 (1973 No.13). The Court was however christened “The Federal High Court” by Section 228 (1) and 230 (2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1979.

Although the need was noted during the constitutional Conference leading to Independence, to establish a High Court for the determination of cases and matters within the Exclusive Legislative list, as is the customary in countries with the Federal System of Government, no step was however taken in that regard until the promulgation of the Federal Revenue Court Decree in 1973.

The Court as Federal Revenue Court (began with a President as the head of the court was then called) and four judges.

From its inception, controversies over its jurisdiction dogged every step of the Court. However, such controversies were finally settled with the enactment of Section 230(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1979.Section 231 of the 1979 Constitution was replicated in the Federal High Court decree (Amendment) 1991(60) which amended Section 7 of the Federal High Court Act (1973); and conferred exclusive jurisdiction on the court in relation to the subject matters covered by section 7 of that Act, as amended.

Section 7 of the Federal High Court (Amendment) 1991 has now being re-enacted Civil Cases and Matters as section 251(1) (a) to (s) and of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended. Its jurisdiction in criminal matters are as provided in Section 251 (2) and (3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended and in such criminal matters as the National Assembly may by Act, confers jurisdiction on it. The Federal High Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the High Court of the FCT and State High Court in respect of fundamental Rights matters by virtue of Section 46(1) of the Constitution of the Federal republic of Nigeria, 1999.

To facilitate the expeditious determination of Civil cases and Matters before the Court, the Federal High Court (Civil Procedure) Rules 2000 was enacted by the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court pursuant to Section 254 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended. The new Rules have several innovative provisions which cover all aspects of practice and procedure before the Court and have a (Fundamental objective) for a (just and expeditious disposition of cases) in view. In 2011, a new Admiralty Procedure Rules were made by the Chief Judge in order to aid a more expeditious hearing of maritime claims in which the Federal High Court has exclusive jurisdiction and which claims as with intellectual property rights, trade marks, patents and designs sometimes have international dimension which may involve foreign companies and interests.

The Federal High Court as a premier Court of first instance has recorded impressive growth since its inception in 1973 and has become, unarguably an important pillar among the Courts in the Federal Judiciary of Nigeria. From the pioneering Five Judges, the Court now has over eighty (80) Judges. The Court has also grown structurally in terms of opening new Divisions in almost all the States of the Federation with Lagos state and Delta with two divisions having regard to the volume of cases filed there. The Court established Three Judicial Divisions within Two Years of its creation. Now, the Court has thirty-nine Judicial Divisions, spread across in thirty-six States including the Federal Capital territory of the country

The Federal High Court as part of capacity and human development has launched an E-filing platform. It has changed the orthodox notice board to electronic display system on all the floors of the court. Even stenographers are now employed in our courts to record court proceedings. This means that records of proceedings are readily available on request and are no longer in longhand.

The Federal High Court Civil Procedure rule 2019 is another milestone in dispensing justice and keeping up to date justice delivery. The world is fast changing, technology and ICT is changing the trajectory of justice system around the world and Federal High Court is not an exemption. Adopting innovative and ICT driving justice system is paramount.

The Court has put up its own Buildings in the following Thirty-three divisions and in 2010, moved to its Headquarters in Abuja, where the court is presently located.

  1. Federal High Court Abuja(Headquarter)
  2. Federal High Court Abakaliki
  3. Federal High Court Abeokuta
  4. Federal High Court Ado-Ekiti
  5. Federal High Court Akure
  6. Federal High Court Asaba
  7. Federal High Court Awka
  8. Federal High Court Bauchi
  9. Federal High Court Benin
  10. Federal High Court Calabar
  11. Federal High Court Damaturu
  12. Federal High Court Enugu
  13. Federal High Court Gombe
  14. Federal High Court Ibadan
  15. Federal High Court Ilorin
  16. Federal High Court Jos
  17. Federal High Court Kaduna
  18. Federal High Court Kano
  19. Federal High Court Kastina
  20. Federal High Court Lagos
  21. Federal High Court Lafia
  22. Federal High Court Lokoja
  23. Federal High Court Maiduguri
  24. Federal High Court Minna
  25. Federal High Court Oshogbo
  26. Federal High Court Owerri
  27. Federal High Court Port-Harcourt
  28. Federal High Court Sokoto
  29. Federal High Court Jalingo
  30. Federal High Court Umuahia
  31. Federal High Court Uyo
  32. Federal High Court Yenegoa
  33. Federal High Court Yola